Losing My Glasses At A SUM 41 Concert

Went to see SUM 41’s last show in NY with my sister, Sho, and had FUCKING BLAST!!

I’ve always been a bit of a homebody in the past so I’ve actually been to VERY few shows, this was the 2nd Sum 41 show I was ever at and the first one was just last year when they played at Jones Beach Theater with The Offspring and Simple Plan. As soon as Sum 41 announced that they would be releasing their final album and going on tour for the last time in the next year my sister and I just looked at each other in quick agreement that we were ABSOLUTELY going.

As someone who hasn’t been to many shows before, I had no experience before this being on the floor. Technically I was on the floor at a Falling In Reverse show after covid restrictions let up and shows started again, but the crowd was a lot smaller and Sho and I just hung out in a fairly empty corner most of the night.

I’m not a huge fan of crowds, but I knew I wanted to have that experience at least once in my life and if I was ever going to do it then it HAD to be at a SUM 41 show. I’ve been a huge fan since their first album dropped when I was in high school and they’ve been a permanent fixture on the soundtrack in my life since.

When the band started playing the crowd just SWELLED so quickly, it was INTENSE. Honestly, it was a bit overwhelming for a moment and the crowd surfing picked up so quickly. I got smacked in the face by two asses in rapid succession and lost my glasses. Thankfully the guys around us in the crowd heard me when I yelled out about my glasses and pushed the rest of the crowd back until someone found them, undamaged.

I love that about punk crowds. Totally wild, but as soon as someone’s in trouble they’re quick to help. What a fantastic community!

After that though, Sho helped drag me further back and we watched the rest of the show from the back end of the circle pit. The pits weren’t as crazy as I expected, they were actually really useful for getting through the crowd. XD

All in all, I had an absolutely fantastic night that I’ll never forget. We screamed, jumped, thrashed, even waltzed a bit. I’m still sore and tired the next day, but it’s completely worth it.

Thank you SUM 41!!!!

Leave a comment